Kitesurfing in Brighton

It was one of those weeks when the wind was howling nonstop for days on end. So late one Friday afternoon after a hard day at work we decided to head to the coast and take advantage of this wonderful British summer weather with our cameras! Strong winds whipped at our faces and spray puffed off the ocean waves – perfect conditions for kitesurfing in Brighton. We watched as the hard-core surfers battled the blustery winds to prepare their colourful kites before braving the cold waters of the English Channel. What a shame the sea wasn’t turquoise blue and the beach wasn’t covered with beautiful girls in bikinis… perhaps another time, another place miles away from here.

With so much fun and excitement we decided to come back the following day. So very early on Saturday morning we returned to the seafront but this time round with much warmer clothes on. The sky was blue with some white puffy clouds on the horizon. With the winds still strong, once again the adrenaline driven kite surfers were out and about tackling what the rough seas of the English Channel had to offer.Β As they sped across the water in front of the striking backdrop of the derelict West pier and with plenty of shots in the bag we decided to head back home.

So here goes, a compilation of some of the shots taken over two days at a very windy Brighton and Hove beach, although the photos really don’t do it justice!

With gusts well over 40mph, needless to say that by the time we got home, we felt like we had just gone through a tumble dryer… on a cold setting that is!

28 Comments on “Kitesurfing in Brighton”

  1. David says:

    Loved this post – am a Brighton Boy (Hove, actually) and decided that kite-surfing was going to be the ‘new thing’ last year; only problem was that trying to learn in weather conditions like this meant that it felt like there was every chance of ending up in France. Still want to learn, but think I might have to leave it until I next find myself somewhere with a turquoise blue sea and a beach full of beautiful girls in bikinis!

    • Juraj says:

      Thanks David – I’m not far from Brighton myself. I can understand the problem with ending up in France – unintentionally πŸ™‚ Something I’d love to learn too although I have to say it looks easier than it really is… Have tried surfing but oh boy nothing can prepare you for the bruises afterwards! Even though it was on a turquoise blue sea with a beach full of beautiful girls in bikinis πŸ™‚
      On another note, I’m looking for someone with decent Final Cut or Adobe Premiere skills, kind of Michael Bay/James Cameron style – do you know of anyone?

      • David says:

        I’m sure there’s a joke to be made there involving beautiful girls and watersports, but perhaps best not to go there! Can’t think of anyone off the top of my head but will certainly bear it in mind. Happy surfing.

      • Juraj says:

        I think you’re right, before we get banned on here… Many thanks and have a great weekend!

  2. semprevento says:

    you are fantastic!!!!
    beautiful photo..
    ComplimentS πŸ™‚ !!!!!

    Beautiful emotions!
    thanks …
    vento

  3. Fantastic photography!

  4. brulionman says:

    cool shots, I tried once to take this subject and must confess that emotions were stronger than it seems from the pictures: http://brulionman.wordpress.com/2009/04/10/kupy-radosna-tfurczosc-wlasna/

  5. I love watching kite surfing, especially when the surfer is lifted high into the air above the choppy waves – amazing! Your pictures are great and day two looked beautiful.

  6. Cheryl Huffer says:

    I can feel it – love it πŸ™‚

  7. Jennifer Worrell says:

    I love watching kite surfers on the U.S. side of the pond. Looks like a blast!

  8. WOW what awesome kitesurfing and photos! I watch kitesurfers from my home or at Ferry Point Park on the Chesapeake Bay and marvel at their strength needed as they ride the waves and jump. But yours were some wild captures of some serious kitesurfers! I enjoyed!!

  9. Clowie says:

    I love the beach when it’s a blustery day!

  10. xpat92 says:

    HiJuraj,

    Thanks for your visit to my blog and for your like of today’s post.
    Our travel paths have not passed but have taken taken us to a couple of the same places, esp Hawaii (where I used to live).
    I scrolled down to see some super aerials & yes, Hawaii!

    I like your blog- stop by mine anytime.
    Aloha πŸ™‚

  11. Absolutely wonderful…really felt like I was there…reminds me of just one kite photo that I have and almost forgot about…will post next….thank you!

  12. mennoG says:

    Awesome photos!

  13. Juraj, I suspect we share a similar spirit of adventure – although on different sides of the world!

  14. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Woohoo! These look fantastic! Feels like right there except minus all that wind. Love them. Thanks so much for sharing…

  15. Wow that looks awesome, I want to go play in that neighborhood…!

  16. meiro says:

    Love this, Fantastic.
    Thanks for coming by.

  17. great shots of these dare-devils who brave the crashing waves of the English Channel. And the perfect soundtrack to accompany these adventurers of the wind. Pleasure to watch


Leave a Reply

